Browse By

Meet your MPs

The Palace of Westminster, which is where the House of Commons meets.

The Palace of Westminster, which is where the House of Commons meets.

Following the 2015 general election, many of you have new MPs. As political editor, I’ll keep you up to date with what they’re doing in parliament, but for now here is a brief summary of all the MPs in the Avon area. You can find your MP and their voting record at TheyWorkForYou. In the coming weeks, I’ll also profile your MEPs and the Mayoral candidates.

Constituency MP Party MP since Facts/other info
Bath Ben Howlett Conservative 2015, winning the seat from the Lib Dems after 23 years. Former PM William Pitt the Elder (1766-8) held this seat.
Bristol East Kerry McCarthy Labour 2005, taking over from a retiring Labour MP. Mild controversy when she was appointed to Jeremy Corbyn’s shadow cabinet. Tony Benn famously suffered a shock defeat here in the 1983 election.
Bristol North West Charlotte Leslie Conservative 2010, winning the seat from Labour after 13 years. Has been held by the ruling party since 1966 (bar a brief period in 1974). Leslie won the Spectator‘s award for Backbencher of the Year.
Bristol South Karin Smyth Labour 2015after the previous Labour MP stood down (she now sits in the Lords).
Bristol West Thangam Debbonaire Labour 2015pushing the incumbent Lib Dem into 3rd place behind the Green Party. Currently undergoing treatment for breast cancer. This seat was the Green Party’s best result outside of Brighton.
Filton and Bradley Stoke Jack Lopresti Conservative 2010, a new seat.
Kingswood Chris Skidmore Conservative 2010, beating the Labour incumbent.
North East Somerset Jacob Rees-Mogg Conservative 2010, beating the Labour incumbent. Widely considered one of Westminster’s most eccentric MPs. Known for his way with words and his rebelliousness.
North Somerset Liam Fox Conservative 1992, a safe Tory seat.  Former Secretary of State for Defence.
Thornbury and Yate Luke Hall Conservative 2015, ousting the incumbent Lib Dem who’d held the seat since 1997.
Weston-super-Mare John Penrose Conservative 2005, winning the seat back from the Lib Dems.  Minister for Constitutional Reform.

The Tories did very well in the south-west, winning all but four seats. The Lib Dems lost all of their south-west seats, and Labour won just four, three of which are in Bristol.