About Us

Berkeley Squares is an independent student newspaper written, produced and edited by sixth form volunteers at Queen Elizabeth’s Hospital School.

Since our founding in 2015 we have grown to a team of dedicated contributors, editors and technical members. Whilst the majority of our audience is Bristol-based, the newspaper deals with regional, national and international issues that aim to voice a healthy spectrum of political and social opinion.

Please feel free to contact us with any queries or feedback.


We strongly believe that journalism should be completely transparent, so you know where your news is coming from.

Our minimal running costs – domain registration – are covered by Queen Elizabeth’s Hospital. Everyone who works on the site is a volunteer and receives no compensation.

The school does not direct which stories we cover, and does not in any way endorse the opinions we express. A member of school teaching staff is in one stage of our editorial review process, in a copy-editing capacity.

All articles are approved before publication by the school’s marketing department to check for legal compliance, such as with copyright and libel legislation. Our content management system does not allow them to edit articles at this stage, only to approve them or return them to their author for re-drafting. They have the ability to edit and take down articles post publication, and to take down the site itself. They have requested modifications a total of 3 times, the last of which was during February 2018.

Editorial Team

David Evans


Editor of Berkeley Squares, trying to interest, inform, and sound clever.

Alex Wilson

Chief Sub-Editor & Sports Editor

Omniscient, Omnipotent Omnivore

Henry Howard

Politics Editor

I go by the name of Henry Howard. I have a particular interest in politics and I would like to share some stories that I find to be of great interest.

Bo Wang

Science & Technology Section Editor

Great interest in epigenetics, aspiring medic and you know, Science and Tech editor. Lovely.

Tom Rickard

UK Editor

'keep it real'

Mackenzie Dutton

Economics Editor

Barnaby Van der Lande

Sports Editor

As a human I'd say I'm pretty intermediate

Zac Lloyd

Culture Section Editor

Alleged Cinephile


Jason Phillips


I do/did the tech stuff on the back-end of the website and occasionally write some articles on various techy things that I find interesting. Also, I am the resident drone pilot, camera operator and video editor.

Olle van der Werf


I'm a 1st year A-Level student with a particular interest in writing about UK, US and Dutch politics.

Torin Menzies


Human being possessing many opinions.

Tom Gwilliam


Technical Team

Artemis Goyal

Technical Officer & Business Section Editor

Will Edlin

Technical Director

I'm responsible for managing the website's technical aspects. I'm also an avid sneakerhead, tech junkie and sports enthusiast!

Prior Members

2021 Leavers

Noah Gassas Editor
Tom Perry Co-Editor & Digital Media Manager
Patrick O'Regan Business & Politics Editor
Ele James Contributor
Jason Phillips Content Director
Charlie Wilson Contributor
Seb Davison Contributor
Ben Goree Contributor

Jay ParkerTechnical Officer

Jason Phillips Technical Director

2020 Leavers

Jonathon Taylor Editor
Oliver Pitt Co-Editor & Digital Media Manager
Angus Bucknell Science & Environment Editor
Louis Smith Content Director
Alke Schwarz Culture Editor
Eddie Thraves Science & Technology Editor
David Baker Political Editor
Hector Newton Joint Sports Editor
Adam Hirst Joint Sports Editor

Harry WalkerTechnical Officer

Caity EmeryTechnical Officer

Thomas CarpendaleTechnical Director

2019 Leavers

Peter Savery Co-Editor
Barnaby Johns Co-Editor
Angus Bucknell Technical Director
Tom Conradi Chief Sub-Editor
Jamie Hall Culture Editor
Yuchao Fan Science & Technology Editor
Miles Thomas Medical Section Editor
Luke Bennett Joint Political Editor
Matthew Fackrell Joint Political Editor
Samuel Perry Joint Sports Editor
Ciera Parsons Joint Sports Editor
Mark Sainsbury Contributor

Harold CannonTechnical Officer

James FosterTechnical and Audio Officer

2018 Leavers

Jack Collard Co-Editor
Chris Hyland Co-Editor and Technical Director
Toby Speirs Chief Sub-Editor and Science & Technology Editor
Harry King Culture Editor
Matthew Munday Joint Political Editor
Edward Píška Joint Political Editor
Tom Hague Sports Editor
James Palmer Film Critic
Louis Harris Contributor
Xianru (Albert) Li Contributor
Joel Sodzi Contributor
James Smithson Contributor
Alex Takemura-James Contributor

Rory NevilleTechnical Officer

Ben SaltTechnical Officer

2017 Leavers

Andreas Richardson Technical Director
James Patrick Wearmouth Business and Political Editor
Rishil Adodra Contributor
Frank Dickens Contributor
Tom Scrivens Contributor

2016 Leavers

Iain Walker Political Editor
Finn Conway Contributor
Florian Howe Contributor
Ned McDougall Contributor
Kieran Small Contributor
Maximilian Yuen Food Critic